Something new- A product review

Hello and welcome back,Pixi-Caroline-Hirons-Double-Cleanse-Review-2-800x727

With my exams finished and being home for the week I thought that I would actually concentrate and work on my blogs so I am starting p this week with something totally different and not at all related to university as I want to share with you my latest skincare love. Having been a long time fan of balm based cleansers I was more than excited to try the Double Cleanse collaboration between Caroline Hirons and Pixi.

If you are unsure of the double cleanse process it is basically where you cleanse once to remove your make-up before going in again to cleanse the skin. This product as an oil based step one which starts as a solid balm and then transforms into an oil as you work it into the skin breaking down all make-up from red lips to waterproof mascara. I then remove is with a warm flannel, dry the skin before moving onto step 2. The oil doesn’t leave any residue as feels really good to just remove everything at the end of a long day.

Step two is a cleansing cream which again I work into my skin and it is this side which you can use in the morning however especially in the warmer where we are currently experiencing in the U.K. I prefer to just use a micelles water in the mornings with anything else being a little too heavy.  The cream feels really soothing but st the same time like you are giving your skin a really good clean readŷ for the next day. Both sides are un fragranced which and gentle with no nasties so this product is great for any skin type. I would say the only issue would be if you have very oily skin then this might still be too heavy but again you do wash everything off so maybe not.  The cleanser is paraben free, fragrance free and it’s not tested on animals. It’s really non-offensive but also completely effective at the same time!

Once you have removed your make up with the oil  and wiped with an obligatory flannel, a market which Caroline has single handedly kept a float with her advice, it’s time to move on to step 2. The thick and luxurious cream cleanser promotes cell renewal and elasticity with Arginine which Vitamin C boosts collagen and a Peptide Complex helps tackle fine lines. As the cream cleanser is so thick, it feels like a luxurious treat to the skin after removing the days makeup and grime. It feels like a nice pampering treat at the end of a hard day. Neither the oil nor the cleanser leave you feeling greasy. The skin is ready to move on to the skin care products you choose without fuss. Personally, I follow this double cleanse with Pixi’s Glow Tonic which is anothet of Caroline’s recommendations and has quickly become one of my favourites and I do use this both at night and in the mornings. After the tonic I apply a small amount of the Salicylic Acid 2% solution by The Ordinary either all over the face or targeted on specific spots, following with again The Ordinary’s Advanced Retinoid 2% (only in the evening). I let both of these sink in before finishing my routine with L’Oreal’s Hydra Genius Aloe Water which has a really light and cooling gel consistency  which is pefect for the summer months rather than a heavier moisturiser and really helps to moisturise my skin with Hyaluronic acid (a review coming soon)

I am onto my second jar of this product and think that this will continue to be my favourite for a long time to come. If you are in the market for a new cleanser this retails in the UK for £24 which I think is totally worth it and is available online as well as in M and S.

This is something different for my blog but I have really enjoyed writing this and please leave me a comment if you would like to see more reviews or a full skin care routine including SPF.

I hope you have all had a good week and enjoy the weekend!

 

Emily xxx

Leave a Reply

