Starting the next chapter

Hello everyone,

I hope you are having a  good week as it is Thursday already! I thought as I begin this search myself it is the right time to talk about searching and applying for graduate jobs which is one of the options available after completing a degree.

  1.  Make a PLAN- First, you need to recognise and acknowledge the pressure you are under. This pressure comes from expectations—from yourself, from friends and fellow graduates, from school tutors, and from parents and relatives. Finding your first job after graduation is a big step and can set the tone for the rest of your career, so it is important to go into the search having considered your options, but it is also just a first step, so don’t let it get so big it overwhelms you. Start with the basics and move forward from there—that’s what a plan will help you to do.
  2. Where to LOOK- Looking for the right job for you is going to be a personal process, and depending on who you are and what you want to do, the traditional routes may not be your best shot. If there is a person you really want to work for (or with), try sending them an email to see if they’d be willing to meet you for a cup of coffee or a drink so you can chat about how they got to where they are. The worst they can say is no, and many such connections have led to something bigger down the line.
  3. APPLYING-  Making a good application depends on identifying your key skills and attributes as well as and being able to demonstrate concisely how they fit in with the requirements identified in the job description.You should also think about how this position (and you, if you are to fill it) fits into the company as a whole. What is their mission statement? What are the company’s short-term and long-term goals? How can you demonstrate that you can help them get there?

    There is increasingly this pressure to use my degree in order to have a good job and make good money especially after the money I have had to spend gaining the degree in the fist place. The issue I have more than anything is having studied a subject such as Sociology it is all about decided what I actually want to do and after three years I still dont know.

I know this is a short piece that is again more about advice that I have found useful rather than a personal experience but I haven’t had the time to write a post like I usually do but I needed to get something up on time.

 

I hope you found this helpful and I am still aiming to get a post up on Monday which I have planned will go back to being far more personal.

Until then,

 

Emily

Leave a Reply

