When home seems so far away

Hello everyone,

I hope you all had a good weekend, I am actually writing this on the train heading home for Easter Break with the distraction of Doctor Who in the background. For all that I go on about my time at university ending for some of you reading this, you will be finishing school in the next few months and looking forward to starting your university journey. Whether you are heading off to university, moving for work or like me facing the prospect of what next I thought I would offer some advice when you just wanna go home, which ties slightly into my last post of packing.

Especially now in the last stretch of third year I am so tired and running on about 4 hours of sleep and coffee I have never wanted to go home more. Previously I have written about the feeling of being trapped within my small village but there is something special and comforting about going home. Moving away and into a new place can be daunting and scary but at the same time you need your parents to believe you will be just fine here are  my top three tips.

  1. Don’t feel too guilty about it- Feeling homesick isn’t a weakness, nor is it something you should beat yourself up about. Missing home is something that affects most students – you’ll only make the situation worse if you think of it as something you should feel guilty about. This probably isn’t the best idea but I talk to my mum every single day for at least 20 minutes but at the same time this  might make the situation worse!
  2. Don’t spend too much time in your room- this might be tempting to treat of your room as your own little safe haven, but staying in too much will only serve to make you feel worse.Isolating yourself will make your feelings more intense, as you’ll spend even more time pondering on what you miss about home.Try to keep yourself busy by taking part in social activities, studying at the library rather than in your room, getting a part time job or getting involved in the many opportunities offered will keep you busy and at the same time you will make friends quickly with others that are in the same boat as you.
  3. Explore your new city One of the main reasons we feel homesick is often to do with being in unfamiliar surroundings, so it’s a great idea to set aside some time to explore your uni town or city so you’ll feel more at home.In fact, not getting to know their uni city better is one of the main regrets that I have as I will probably end up going back home or moving somewhere else depending if I have a job and I love living in Nottingham I just haven’t explored the city away from the centre as much as I should have.

If you have any other tips or advice please leave me a comment as I would love to know. The next post is going to be about looking and applying for graduate jobs which is what I am in the process of doing right now. As always I hope you found this interesting if not helpful.

Until next time,

Emily xxx

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

