Together we can unite

Hello everyone,

This is a different post to the one I had planned for this week and after the tragedy that happened in London yesterday it only seemed right to turn my attention to this especially sitting here at 2 am Friday morning with time to sit back and think.  As I am writing this there are live updates here  https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/live/2017/mar/23/westminster-attack-parliament-resumes-tributes-keith-palmer-live where sadly another victim has died.

Growing up over the last decades I honestly can’t remember a time where somewhere in the world there has not been one conflict or another and we are supposedly in peace time, but if this is the situation now what is it going to be like in the future- are my children going to be facing a war unlike anything we have seen before? Technology despite its advantages has also made it so much easier to do damage and it seems that in the twenty-first century that conflict has become normal, from daily new reports to the rise of militainment and video games. Wouldn’t it be nice if just once there really was an end to the fighting, for just once every single person stopped and really thought about it, the damage and the heartbreak, the suffering and the loss?

Sitting here I can not imagine the pain that the people involved in the incident in London and there friends and family must be going through. I know my mum and dad, my family are safe at home but at the same time there is this fear that something could happen and the two hours it takes me to get home feels like the other side of the world right now and there is nothing I can do. How is that fair that someone feels they have the right to play god- to take away fathers and sons and daughters and siblings?

I know that this post doesn’t in any way shed light or pay enough tribute to those who have died with many more injured nor those who were first on the scene doing everything to save lives but in a time where we are more connected than ever it seems as if humanity is falling apart but maybe just maybe there is hope.

As I am sure you are aware I am knee deep in deadlines right now so I’m not sure whether there will be a post on Monday.  I hope  you all have a lovely weekend and until next time !

Emily

Leave a Reply

